Odd one out

You know, usually in my graphic design classes, pretty much all the students I have in my class all seem to find some cheesy ‘artistic’ thing to say. For example, they see like geometric shapes with some warm colors on a cool background, and they somehow manage to come up with like, “I feel that it’s so relaxing, and inviting, I think of clouds falling into a sunset” bla bla bla, and the thing is, the professors eat it up, and the issue here is we end up all having to say something about some graphic design work, and all I can come up with is, “I see shapes”.

I don’t know how they find something so artistic and find such feeling in what I feel is just a straightforward piece of graphic work. I would understand if it was something like:

You know, usually in my graphic design classes, pretty much all the students I have in my class all seem to find some cheesy ‘artistic’ thing to say. For example, they see like geometric shapes with some warm colors on a cool background, and they somehow manage to come up with like, “I feel that it’s so relaxing, and inviting, I think of clouds falling into a sunset” bla bla bla, and the thing is, the professors eat it up, and the issue here is we end up all having to say something about some graphic design work, and all I can come up with is, “I see shapes”.

I don’t know how they find something so artistic and find such feeling in what I feel is just a straightforward piece of graphic work. I would understand if it was something like:


pain by *Obscurae on deviantART

Trust me, I’d have lots of things to say about such strong art works. Or art works in general.

But I don’t know how they find something to say about something like this:

I don’t know if they are just overdoing it and trying to seem artistic and smart, or if I’m just the odd one out in the graphic design classes?

I feel more comfortable in art classes, and get confused at how the girls in my classes show off with finding something so heartfelt to say about such a rigid straightforward label work.

Is it just the girls here? I don’t know.. I’ve only experienced it in AUK gdes classes, but the girls have less to say in regular art classes, which confuzzles me.

It’s frustrating trying to find something meaningful to say for such works, and I always feel silly for … well, being honest and straightforward in what I see and get from the work.

Leave a Reply

